{
  "title": "Montana solar payback by utility",
  "publisher": "Montana Solar Estimate",
  "page": "https://www.mtsolarestimate.com/solar/montana-solar-payback-by-utility",
  "license": "CC BY 4.0, attribution to the publisher",
  "tariffsReviewedOn": "2026-11-01",
  "typicalHome": {
    "monthlyKwh": 900,
    "heat": "gas heat"
  },
  "utilities": [
    {
      "rank": 1,
      "utilityId": "nwe",
      "name": "NorthWestern Energy",
      "slug": "northwestern-energy",
      "type": "iou",
      "typeLabel": "Investor-owned utility (PSC-regulated)",
      "energyRatePerKwh": 0.15827,
      "fixedChargePerMonth": 4.2,
      "demandPerKw": null,
      "demandNetMeteredOnly": false,
      "exportCredit": "retail",
      "exportCreditLabel": "Full retail rate (kWh banked)",
      "exportCreditPerKwh": null,
      "bankResetLabel": "April (member's choice)",
      "payoutPerKwh": null,
      "capLabel": "50 kW AC",
      "paybackLow": 11.2,
      "paybackMid": 12.9,
      "paybackHigh": 15,
      "savingsHigh": 1795,
      "systemKw": 9.3,
      "verified": true,
      "netMeteringVerified": true,
      "effectiveDate": "2026-10-15",
      "sourceUrl": "https://www.northwesternenergy.com/billing-payment/rates-tariffs/rates-tariffs-montana/electric-rates-tariffs",
      "pageUrl": "https://www.mtsolarestimate.com/solar/utilities/northwestern-energy"
    },
    {
      "rank": 2,
      "utilityId": "mdu",
      "name": "Montana-Dakota Utilities",
      "slug": "montana-dakota-utilities",
      "type": "iou",
      "typeLabel": "Investor-owned utility (PSC-regulated)",
      "energyRatePerKwh": 0.144806,
      "fixedChargePerMonth": 7.68,
      "demandPerKw": null,
      "demandNetMeteredOnly": false,
      "exportCredit": "retail",
      "exportCreditLabel": "Full retail rate (kWh banked)",
      "exportCreditPerKwh": null,
      "bankResetLabel": "April (member's choice)",
      "payoutPerKwh": null,
      "capLabel": "50 kW AC",
      "paybackLow": 12.6,
      "paybackMid": 14.4,
      "paybackHigh": 16.7,
      "savingsHigh": 1436,
      "systemKw": 8.2,
      "verified": true,
      "netMeteringVerified": true,
      "effectiveDate": "2026-04-01",
      "sourceUrl": "https://www.montana-dakota.com/wp-content/uploads/PDFs/Rates-Tariffs/Montana/Electric/MTElectric10.pdf",
      "pageUrl": "https://www.mtsolarestimate.com/solar/utilities/montana-dakota-utilities"
    },
    {
      "rank": 3,
      "utilityId": "hill_county",
      "name": "Hill County Electric Cooperative",
      "slug": "hill-county-electric-cooperative",
      "type": "coop",
      "typeLabel": "Electric cooperative",
      "energyRatePerKwh": 0.1195,
      "fixedChargePerMonth": 40,
      "demandPerKw": null,
      "demandNetMeteredOnly": false,
      "exportCredit": "retail",
      "exportCreditLabel": "Full retail rate (kWh banked)",
      "exportCreditPerKwh": null,
      "bankResetLabel": "January",
      "payoutPerKwh": null,
      "capLabel": "10 kW AC",
      "paybackLow": 13.7,
      "paybackMid": 15.6,
      "paybackHigh": 18.1,
      "savingsHigh": 1355,
      "systemKw": 8.6,
      "verified": true,
      "netMeteringVerified": true,
      "effectiveDate": "2024-09-01",
      "sourceUrl": "https://www.hcelectric.com/my-account/rates",
      "pageUrl": "https://www.mtsolarestimate.com/solar/utilities/hill-county-electric-cooperative"
    },
    {
      "rank": 4,
      "utilityId": "mid_yellowstone",
      "name": "Mid-Yellowstone Electric Cooperative",
      "slug": "mid-yellowstone-electric-cooperative",
      "type": "coop",
      "typeLabel": "Electric cooperative",
      "energyRatePerKwh": 0.112,
      "fixedChargePerMonth": 43.5,
      "demandPerKw": null,
      "demandNetMeteredOnly": false,
      "exportCredit": "retail",
      "exportCreditLabel": "Full retail rate (kWh banked)",
      "exportCreditPerKwh": null,
      "bankResetLabel": "January",
      "payoutPerKwh": null,
      "capLabel": "10 kW AC",
      "paybackLow": 14,
      "paybackMid": 16,
      "paybackHigh": 18.5,
      "savingsHigh": 1270,
      "systemKw": 8.2,
      "verified": true,
      "netMeteringVerified": true,
      "effectiveDate": "2024-12-20",
      "sourceUrl": "https://www.myec.coop/sites/default/files/Rate%20Schedule%20FRP-New_1.pdf",
      "pageUrl": "https://www.mtsolarestimate.com/solar/utilities/mid-yellowstone-electric-cooperative"
    },
    {
      "rank": 5,
      "utilityId": "tongue_river",
      "name": "Tongue River Electric Cooperative",
      "slug": "tongue-river-electric-cooperative",
      "type": "coop",
      "typeLabel": "Electric cooperative",
      "energyRatePerKwh": 0.1212,
      "fixedChargePerMonth": 39,
      "demandPerKw": 1,
      "demandNetMeteredOnly": false,
      "exportCredit": "retail",
      "exportCreditLabel": "Full retail rate (kWh banked)",
      "exportCreditPerKwh": null,
      "bankResetLabel": "January",
      "payoutPerKwh": null,
      "capLabel": "10 kW AC",
      "paybackLow": 14.2,
      "paybackMid": 16.2,
      "paybackHigh": 18.8,
      "savingsHigh": 1248,
      "systemKw": 8.2,
      "verified": true,
      "netMeteringVerified": true,
      "effectiveDate": "2025-12-26",
      "sourceUrl": "https://tongueriverelectric.com/sites/default/files/2025%20SCHEDULE%20A.pdf",
      "pageUrl": "https://www.mtsolarestimate.com/solar/utilities/tongue-river-electric-cooperative"
    },
    {
      "rank": 6,
      "utilityId": "yvec",
      "name": "Yellowstone Valley Electric Cooperative",
      "slug": "yellowstone-valley-electric-cooperative",
      "type": "coop",
      "typeLabel": "Electric cooperative",
      "energyRatePerKwh": 0.1168,
      "fixedChargePerMonth": 27,
      "demandPerKw": 2,
      "demandNetMeteredOnly": true,
      "exportCredit": "retail",
      "exportCreditLabel": "Full retail rate (kWh banked)",
      "exportCreditPerKwh": null,
      "bankResetLabel": "April",
      "payoutPerKwh": null,
      "capLabel": "10 kW AC",
      "paybackLow": 14.4,
      "paybackMid": 16.5,
      "paybackHigh": 19,
      "savingsHigh": 1236,
      "systemKw": 8.3,
      "verified": true,
      "netMeteringVerified": true,
      "effectiveDate": "2026-01-01",
      "sourceUrl": "https://www.yvec.com/your-account/electrical-rates/",
      "pageUrl": "https://www.mtsolarestimate.com/solar/utilities/yellowstone-valley-electric-cooperative"
    },
    {
      "rank": 7,
      "utilityId": "mccone",
      "name": "McCone Electric Cooperative",
      "slug": "mccone-electric-cooperative",
      "type": "coop",
      "typeLabel": "Electric cooperative",
      "energyRatePerKwh": 0.1453,
      "fixedChargePerMonth": 47.75,
      "demandPerKw": null,
      "demandNetMeteredOnly": false,
      "exportCredit": "retail",
      "exportCreditLabel": "Full retail rate (kWh banked)",
      "exportCreditPerKwh": null,
      "bankResetLabel": "April",
      "payoutPerKwh": null,
      "capLabel": "20 kW AC",
      "paybackLow": 14.6,
      "paybackMid": 16.7,
      "paybackHigh": 19.3,
      "savingsHigh": 1207,
      "systemKw": 8.2,
      "verified": true,
      "netMeteringVerified": true,
      "effectiveDate": "2026-01-01",
      "sourceUrl": "https://mcconeelectric.coop/sites/default/files/documents/A-1.pdf",
      "pageUrl": "https://www.mtsolarestimate.com/solar/utilities/mccone-electric-cooperative"
    },
    {
      "rank": 8,
      "utilityId": "big_flat",
      "name": "Big Flat Electric Cooperative",
      "slug": "big-flat-electric-cooperative",
      "type": "coop",
      "typeLabel": "Electric cooperative",
      "energyRatePerKwh": 0.109,
      "fixedChargePerMonth": 38,
      "demandPerKw": 1,
      "demandNetMeteredOnly": false,
      "exportCredit": "retail",
      "exportCreditLabel": "Full retail rate (kWh banked)",
      "exportCreditPerKwh": null,
      "bankResetLabel": "April",
      "payoutPerKwh": null,
      "capLabel": "10 kW AC",
      "paybackLow": 14.8,
      "paybackMid": 16.9,
      "paybackHigh": 19.6,
      "savingsHigh": 1236,
      "systemKw": 8.6,
      "verified": true,
      "netMeteringVerified": false,
      "effectiveDate": "2026-01-01",
      "sourceUrl": "https://bigflatelectric.com/sites/default/files/2026-01/januarybigflat-final.pdf",
      "pageUrl": "https://www.mtsolarestimate.com/solar/utilities/big-flat-electric-cooperative"
    },
    {
      "rank": 9,
      "utilityId": "big_horn",
      "name": "Big Horn County Electric Cooperative",
      "slug": "big-horn-county-electric-cooperative",
      "type": "coop",
      "typeLabel": "Electric cooperative",
      "energyRatePerKwh": 0.12618,
      "fixedChargePerMonth": 40,
      "demandPerKw": null,
      "demandNetMeteredOnly": false,
      "exportCredit": "retail",
      "exportCreditLabel": "Full retail rate (kWh banked)",
      "exportCreditPerKwh": null,
      "bankResetLabel": "Monthly (no annual bank)",
      "payoutPerKwh": null,
      "capLabel": "25 kW DC",
      "paybackLow": 15.3,
      "paybackMid": 17.4,
      "paybackHigh": 20.1,
      "savingsHigh": 1155,
      "systemKw": 8.3,
      "verified": true,
      "netMeteringVerified": true,
      "effectiveDate": "2026-01-01",
      "sourceUrl": "https://www.bhcec.com/ratesservice/rates/",
      "pageUrl": "https://www.mtsolarestimate.com/solar/utilities/big-horn-county-electric-cooperative"
    },
    {
      "rank": 10,
      "utilityId": "fergus",
      "name": "Fergus Electric Cooperative",
      "slug": "fergus-electric-cooperative",
      "type": "coop",
      "typeLabel": "Electric cooperative",
      "energyRatePerKwh": 0.106,
      "fixedChargePerMonth": 35,
      "demandPerKw": 5.5,
      "demandNetMeteredOnly": false,
      "exportCredit": "retail",
      "exportCreditLabel": "Full retail rate (kWh banked)",
      "exportCreditPerKwh": null,
      "bankResetLabel": "April",
      "payoutPerKwh": null,
      "capLabel": "25 kW DC",
      "paybackLow": 15.4,
      "paybackMid": 17.6,
      "paybackHigh": 20.3,
      "savingsHigh": 1202,
      "systemKw": 8.8,
      "verified": true,
      "netMeteringVerified": true,
      "effectiveDate": "2026-01-01",
      "sourceUrl": "https://www.ferguselectric.coop/rates",
      "pageUrl": "https://www.mtsolarestimate.com/solar/utilities/fergus-electric-cooperative"
    },
    {
      "rank": 11,
      "utilityId": "southeast",
      "name": "Southeast Electric Cooperative",
      "slug": "southeast-electric-cooperative",
      "type": "coop",
      "typeLabel": "Electric cooperative",
      "energyRatePerKwh": 0.094,
      "fixedChargePerMonth": 33,
      "demandPerKw": 0.5,
      "demandNetMeteredOnly": false,
      "exportCredit": "retail",
      "exportCreditLabel": "Full retail rate (kWh banked)",
      "exportCreditPerKwh": null,
      "bankResetLabel": "April",
      "payoutPerKwh": null,
      "capLabel": "10 kW AC",
      "paybackLow": 16.3,
      "paybackMid": 18.5,
      "paybackHigh": 21.3,
      "savingsHigh": 1066,
      "systemKw": 8.2,
      "verified": true,
      "netMeteringVerified": false,
      "effectiveDate": "2026-01-01",
      "sourceUrl": "https://www.seecoop.com/rates",
      "pageUrl": "https://www.mtsolarestimate.com/solar/utilities/southeast-electric-cooperative"
    },
    {
      "rank": 12,
      "utilityId": "marias_river",
      "name": "Marias River Electric Cooperative",
      "slug": "marias-river-electric-cooperative",
      "type": "coop",
      "typeLabel": "Electric cooperative",
      "energyRatePerKwh": 0.0841,
      "fixedChargePerMonth": 30,
      "demandPerKw": null,
      "demandNetMeteredOnly": false,
      "exportCredit": "retail",
      "exportCreditLabel": "Full retail rate (kWh banked)",
      "exportCreditPerKwh": null,
      "bankResetLabel": "Not stated",
      "payoutPerKwh": null,
      "capLabel": "10 kW AC",
      "paybackLow": 18,
      "paybackMid": 20.4,
      "paybackHigh": 23.6,
      "savingsHigh": 954,
      "systemKw": 8.3,
      "verified": true,
      "netMeteringVerified": true,
      "effectiveDate": "2026-02-01",
      "sourceUrl": "https://mariasriverec.com/sites/default/files/2025-12/Updated%20Rates%202.1.26_0.pdf",
      "pageUrl": "https://www.mtsolarestimate.com/solar/utilities/marias-river-electric-cooperative"
    },
    {
      "rank": 13,
      "utilityId": "glacier",
      "name": "Glacier Electric Cooperative",
      "slug": "glacier-electric-cooperative",
      "type": "coop",
      "typeLabel": "Electric cooperative",
      "energyRatePerKwh": 0.0825,
      "fixedChargePerMonth": 35,
      "demandPerKw": null,
      "demandNetMeteredOnly": false,
      "exportCredit": "retail",
      "exportCreditLabel": "Full retail rate (kWh banked)",
      "exportCreditPerKwh": null,
      "bankResetLabel": "January",
      "payoutPerKwh": 0.035,
      "capLabel": "15 kW DC",
      "paybackLow": 18.3,
      "paybackMid": 20.8,
      "paybackHigh": 23.9,
      "savingsHigh": 936,
      "systemKw": 8.3,
      "verified": true,
      "netMeteringVerified": true,
      "effectiveDate": "2026-04-01",
      "sourceUrl": "https://www.glacierelectric.com/rates",
      "pageUrl": "https://www.mtsolarestimate.com/solar/utilities/glacier-electric-cooperative"
    },
    {
      "rank": 14,
      "utilityId": "beartooth",
      "name": "Beartooth Electric Cooperative",
      "slug": "beartooth-electric-cooperative",
      "type": "coop",
      "typeLabel": "Electric cooperative",
      "energyRatePerKwh": 0.080281,
      "fixedChargePerMonth": 25,
      "demandPerKw": 4.95,
      "demandNetMeteredOnly": false,
      "exportCredit": "retail",
      "exportCreditLabel": "Full retail rate (kWh banked)",
      "exportCreditPerKwh": null,
      "bankResetLabel": "April",
      "payoutPerKwh": 0.0345,
      "capLabel": "25 kW DC",
      "paybackLow": 19,
      "paybackMid": 21.5,
      "paybackHigh": 24.7,
      "savingsHigh": 910,
      "systemKw": 8.5,
      "verified": true,
      "netMeteringVerified": true,
      "effectiveDate": "2026-01-01",
      "sourceUrl": "https://www.beartoothelectric.com/electric-service/rates-service-fees/",
      "pageUrl": "https://www.mtsolarestimate.com/solar/utilities/beartooth-electric-cooperative"
    },
    {
      "rank": 15,
      "utilityId": "mission_valley",
      "name": "Mission Valley Power",
      "slug": "mission-valley-power",
      "type": "federal",
      "typeLabel": "Federal (BIA) utility",
      "energyRatePerKwh": 0.0901,
      "fixedChargePerMonth": 27,
      "demandPerKw": 0.8,
      "demandNetMeteredOnly": false,
      "exportCredit": "retail",
      "exportCreditLabel": "Full retail rate (kWh banked)",
      "exportCreditPerKwh": null,
      "bankResetLabel": "April",
      "payoutPerKwh": null,
      "capLabel": "20 kW AC",
      "paybackLow": 19,
      "paybackMid": 21.6,
      "paybackHigh": 24.8,
      "savingsHigh": 970,
      "systemKw": 9.3,
      "verified": true,
      "netMeteringVerified": true,
      "effectiveDate": "2026-03-01",
      "sourceUrl": "https://missionvalleypower.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/04/Rate-Schedule-March-1-2026.pdf",
      "pageUrl": "https://www.mtsolarestimate.com/solar/utilities/mission-valley-power"
    },
    {
      "rank": 16,
      "utilityId": "vigilante",
      "name": "Vigilante Electric Cooperative",
      "slug": "vigilante-electric-cooperative",
      "type": "coop",
      "typeLabel": "Electric cooperative",
      "energyRatePerKwh": 0.071,
      "fixedChargePerMonth": 32,
      "demandPerKw": 1.75,
      "demandNetMeteredOnly": false,
      "exportCredit": "retail",
      "exportCreditLabel": "Full retail rate (kWh banked)",
      "exportCreditPerKwh": null,
      "bankResetLabel": "January",
      "payoutPerKwh": null,
      "capLabel": "10 kW AC",
      "paybackLow": 19.9,
      "paybackMid": 22.5,
      "paybackHigh": 25.9,
      "savingsHigh": 805,
      "systemKw": 7.8,
      "verified": true,
      "netMeteringVerified": true,
      "effectiveDate": "2026-01-01",
      "sourceUrl": "https://www.vec.coop/member-services/rates/",
      "pageUrl": "https://www.mtsolarestimate.com/solar/utilities/vigilante-electric-cooperative"
    },
    {
      "rank": 17,
      "utilityId": "lyrec",
      "name": "Lower Yellowstone Rural Electric Cooperative",
      "slug": "lower-yellowstone-rural-electric-cooperative",
      "type": "coop",
      "typeLabel": "Electric cooperative",
      "energyRatePerKwh": 0.074,
      "fixedChargePerMonth": 25,
      "demandPerKw": null,
      "demandNetMeteredOnly": false,
      "exportCredit": "retail",
      "exportCreditLabel": "Full retail rate (kWh banked)",
      "exportCreditPerKwh": null,
      "bankResetLabel": "January",
      "payoutPerKwh": null,
      "capLabel": "10 kW AC",
      "paybackLow": 20,
      "paybackMid": 22.6,
      "paybackHigh": 26,
      "savingsHigh": 839,
      "systemKw": 8.3,
      "verified": true,
      "netMeteringVerified": true,
      "effectiveDate": "2025-01-01",
      "sourceUrl": "https://lyrec.com/rates",
      "pageUrl": "https://www.mtsolarestimate.com/solar/utilities/lower-yellowstone-rural-electric-cooperative"
    },
    {
      "rank": 18,
      "utilityId": "park",
      "name": "Park Electric Cooperative",
      "slug": "park-electric-cooperative",
      "type": "coop",
      "typeLabel": "Electric cooperative",
      "energyRatePerKwh": 0.086,
      "fixedChargePerMonth": 27,
      "demandPerKw": 3,
      "demandNetMeteredOnly": false,
      "exportCredit": "retail",
      "exportCreditLabel": "Full retail rate (kWh banked)",
      "exportCreditPerKwh": null,
      "bankResetLabel": "April",
      "payoutPerKwh": null,
      "capLabel": "15 kW DC",
      "paybackLow": 20.1,
      "paybackMid": 22.8,
      "paybackHigh": 26.2,
      "savingsHigh": 862,
      "systemKw": 8.7,
      "verified": true,
      "netMeteringVerified": true,
      "effectiveDate": "2026-01-01",
      "sourceUrl": "https://parkelectric.coop/rates-0",
      "pageUrl": "https://www.mtsolarestimate.com/solar/utilities/park-electric-cooperative"
    },
    {
      "rank": 19,
      "utilityId": "sun_river",
      "name": "Sun River Electric Cooperative",
      "slug": "sun-river-electric-cooperative",
      "type": "coop",
      "typeLabel": "Electric cooperative",
      "energyRatePerKwh": 0.06720000000000001,
      "fixedChargePerMonth": 30,
      "demandPerKw": 7.05,
      "demandNetMeteredOnly": false,
      "exportCredit": "retail",
      "exportCreditLabel": "Full retail rate (kWh banked)",
      "exportCreditPerKwh": null,
      "bankResetLabel": "March",
      "payoutPerKwh": null,
      "capLabel": "10 kW AC",
      "paybackLow": 21.7,
      "paybackMid": 24.6,
      "paybackHigh": 28.2,
      "savingsHigh": 762,
      "systemKw": 8.4,
      "verified": true,
      "netMeteringVerified": true,
      "effectiveDate": "2026-01-01",
      "sourceUrl": "https://sunriverelectric.coop/billing-rates-and-fees",
      "pageUrl": "https://www.mtsolarestimate.com/solar/utilities/sun-river-electric-cooperative"
    },
    {
      "rank": 20,
      "utilityId": "missoula_ec",
      "name": "Missoula Electric Cooperative",
      "slug": "missoula-electric-cooperative",
      "type": "coop",
      "typeLabel": "Electric cooperative",
      "energyRatePerKwh": 0.0712,
      "fixedChargePerMonth": 32,
      "demandPerKw": 3,
      "demandNetMeteredOnly": false,
      "exportCredit": "retail",
      "exportCreditLabel": "Full retail rate (kWh banked)",
      "exportCreditPerKwh": null,
      "bankResetLabel": "May",
      "payoutPerKwh": 0.035,
      "capLabel": "10 kW AC",
      "paybackLow": 22.1,
      "paybackMid": 25,
      "paybackHigh": 28.6,
      "savingsHigh": 807,
      "systemKw": 9.3,
      "verified": true,
      "netMeteringVerified": true,
      "effectiveDate": "2026-04-01",
      "sourceUrl": "https://missoulaelectric.com/member-services/billing-payment/rates/",
      "pageUrl": "https://www.mtsolarestimate.com/solar/utilities/missoula-electric-cooperative"
    },
    {
      "rank": 21,
      "utilityId": "lincoln",
      "name": "Lincoln Electric Cooperative",
      "slug": "lincoln-electric-cooperative",
      "type": "coop",
      "typeLabel": "Electric cooperative",
      "energyRatePerKwh": 0.07032,
      "fixedChargePerMonth": 49.7,
      "demandPerKw": 2.8,
      "demandNetMeteredOnly": false,
      "exportCredit": "retail",
      "exportCreditLabel": "Full retail rate (kWh banked)",
      "exportCreditPerKwh": null,
      "bankResetLabel": "April",
      "payoutPerKwh": null,
      "capLabel": "10 kW AC",
      "paybackLow": 23,
      "paybackMid": 25.9,
      "paybackHigh": 29.6,
      "savingsHigh": 797,
      "systemKw": 9.8,
      "verified": true,
      "netMeteringVerified": false,
      "effectiveDate": "2026-03-01",
      "sourceUrl": "https://lincolnelectric.coop/billing/lec-rates/",
      "pageUrl": "https://www.mtsolarestimate.com/solar/utilities/lincoln-electric-cooperative"
    },
    {
      "rank": 22,
      "utilityId": "ravalli",
      "name": "Ravalli Electric Cooperative",
      "slug": "ravalli-electric-cooperative",
      "type": "coop",
      "typeLabel": "Electric cooperative",
      "energyRatePerKwh": 0.0849,
      "fixedChargePerMonth": 39,
      "demandPerKw": 3.8,
      "demandNetMeteredOnly": false,
      "exportCredit": "avoided_cost",
      "exportCreditLabel": "Avoided cost, 4.69¢/kWh",
      "exportCreditPerKwh": 0.04693,
      "bankResetLabel": "April",
      "payoutPerKwh": null,
      "capLabel": "10 kW AC",
      "paybackLow": 24,
      "paybackMid": 27.1,
      "paybackHigh": 31,
      "savingsHigh": 683,
      "systemKw": 8.6,
      "verified": true,
      "netMeteringVerified": true,
      "effectiveDate": "2026-03-01",
      "sourceUrl": "https://www.ravallielectric.com/wp-content/uploads/2026-Rates-Schedules-Brochure-3.pdf",
      "pageUrl": "https://www.mtsolarestimate.com/solar/utilities/ravalli-electric-cooperative"
    },
    {
      "rank": 23,
      "utilityId": "flathead",
      "name": "Flathead Electric Cooperative",
      "slug": "flathead-electric-cooperative",
      "type": "coop",
      "typeLabel": "Electric cooperative",
      "energyRatePerKwh": 0.065402,
      "fixedChargePerMonth": 26.66,
      "demandPerKw": 4.93,
      "demandNetMeteredOnly": false,
      "exportCredit": "energy_only",
      "exportCreditLabel": "Energy charge only",
      "exportCreditPerKwh": null,
      "bankResetLabel": "Not stated",
      "payoutPerKwh": null,
      "capLabel": "50 kW AC",
      "paybackLow": 24.3,
      "paybackMid": 27.4,
      "paybackHigh": 31.2,
      "savingsHigh": 742,
      "systemKw": 9.8,
      "verified": true,
      "netMeteringVerified": true,
      "effectiveDate": "2026-06-01",
      "sourceUrl": "https://www.flatheadelectric.com/wp-content/uploads/RES01-1.pdf",
      "pageUrl": "https://www.mtsolarestimate.com/solar/utilities/flathead-electric-cooperative"
    },
    {
      "rank": null,
      "utilityId": "troy",
      "name": "City of Troy Electric",
      "slug": "city-of-troy-electric",
      "type": "muni",
      "typeLabel": "Municipal utility",
      "energyRatePerKwh": 0.0647,
      "fixedChargePerMonth": 16.35,
      "demandPerKw": null,
      "demandNetMeteredOnly": false,
      "exportCredit": "retail",
      "exportCreditLabel": "Full retail rate (kWh banked)",
      "exportCreditPerKwh": null,
      "bankResetLabel": "April",
      "payoutPerKwh": null,
      "capLabel": "10 kW AC",
      "paybackLow": 24.5,
      "paybackMid": 27.6,
      "paybackHigh": 31.5,
      "savingsHigh": 734,
      "systemKw": 9.8,
      "verified": false,
      "netMeteringVerified": false,
      "effectiveDate": "2021-11-01",
      "sourceUrl": "https://thewesternnews.com/news/2021/oct/26/troy-approves-increase-power-bills",
      "pageUrl": "https://www.mtsolarestimate.com/solar/utilities/city-of-troy-electric"
    },
    {
      "rank": null,
      "utilityId": "norval",
      "name": "NorVal Electric Cooperative",
      "slug": "norval-electric-cooperative",
      "type": "coop",
      "typeLabel": "Electric cooperative",
      "energyRatePerKwh": 0.115,
      "fixedChargePerMonth": 40,
      "demandPerKw": null,
      "demandNetMeteredOnly": false,
      "exportCredit": "retail",
      "exportCreditLabel": "Full retail rate (kWh banked)",
      "exportCreditPerKwh": null,
      "bankResetLabel": "April",
      "payoutPerKwh": null,
      "capLabel": "10 kW AC",
      "paybackLow": 13.8,
      "paybackMid": 15.7,
      "paybackHigh": 18.3,
      "savingsHigh": 1304,
      "systemKw": 8.3,
      "verified": false,
      "netMeteringVerified": false,
      "effectiveDate": "2026-01-01",
      "sourceUrl": "https://www.norval.coop/",
      "pageUrl": "https://www.mtsolarestimate.com/solar/utilities/norval-electric-cooperative"
    },
    {
      "rank": null,
      "utilityId": "sheridan",
      "name": "Sheridan Electric Cooperative",
      "slug": "sheridan-electric-cooperative",
      "type": "coop",
      "typeLabel": "Electric cooperative",
      "energyRatePerKwh": 0.095,
      "fixedChargePerMonth": 35,
      "demandPerKw": null,
      "demandNetMeteredOnly": false,
      "exportCredit": "retail",
      "exportCreditLabel": "Full retail rate (kWh banked)",
      "exportCreditPerKwh": null,
      "bankResetLabel": "April",
      "payoutPerKwh": null,
      "capLabel": "10 kW AC",
      "paybackLow": 16.2,
      "paybackMid": 18.5,
      "paybackHigh": 21.4,
      "savingsHigh": 1077,
      "systemKw": 8.3,
      "verified": false,
      "netMeteringVerified": false,
      "effectiveDate": "2026-01-01",
      "sourceUrl": "https://sheridanelectric.coop/distributed-generation",
      "pageUrl": "https://www.mtsolarestimate.com/solar/utilities/sheridan-electric-cooperative"
    }
  ]
}